Monday, July 23, 2007

Padraig Harrington has become the first Irish winner of The Open Championship since Fred Daly in 1947. He clinched the title in nail-biting fashion in a four-hole play-off with Sergio Garcia of Spain.

He had a one stroke advantage on the final hole of normal play but twice put his ball in the Barry Burn to take six. Garcia then had the chanceto win at the 72nd hole, but bunkered his second shot and took five to force the play-off.

Harrington took an immediate advantage in the four hole decider, holing a birdie putt from eight feet while Garcia was bunkered short of the pin and failed to get up and down. They matched shots at the 16th and 17th before Harrington laid up in two at the 18th.

Going for broke Garcia hit his driver and then fired a six-iron from the light rough on the left 203 yards into the centre of the green. Harrington's approach pulled up outside Garcia's ball and his first putt rolled three feet past. Garcia's putted shaved the hole but made the return, leaving Harrington an unwanted three-footer for the title.

Pos Players Holes Par
1 Padraig HARRINGTON 18 -7
2 Sergio GARCIA 18 -7
3 Andres ROMERO 18 -6
T4 Richard GREEN 18 -5
T4 Ernie ELS 18 -5
T6 Hunter MAHAN 18 -4
T6 Stewart CINK 18 -4
T8 Ben CURTIS 18 -3
T8 Mike WEIR 18 -3
T8 KJ CHOI 18 -3